The Decade that was!

Remind me when to officially stop saying “Happy new year” my brain is tired.

Sunrise-HD

I didn’t know it was the end of a decade until I remembered the things that have happened (the things you reminisce when insomnia strikes during those ungodly hours). Boy it’s been a roller coaster of a decade.

Started out with meeting a bunch of very interesting friends. These guys have been real. From sharing laughter to just being there for each other. Here’s to the ‘Legends’, you rock!

Then school happened. I had written that part of my life off (for obvious reasons) but I finally managed to pick it up. No regrets whatsoever. For love of the book, I hope to pick up again in the near future. School is the only place you stay young (my thoughts).

It was the decade that I learned not to stress about my eyesight failing as I got older. It’s nature’s way of protecting me from shock as I walk past the mirror. I had a corneal transplant on my left eye to correct a visual impairment. A few months later, another procedure on the right to stabilize it. One word for the whole experience…PAINFUL and SCARY. Might write about it in details in the near future.

Love happened and un-happened with equal intensity. Let’s just say the gods might be angry with me and that’s why, as my friend Captain Ozwald would say, I’m in a self partnered relationship, at least until I make peace with the gods. Oh! It was the decade I got into the magic floor. They lie that life begins here and forget to tell you that it’s the age where you finally get your head together – then your body starts falling apart!

That said, “how you choose to start this year will largely depend on your: age, remaining levels of optimism and the threshold of pain” – Joseph Connolly. And while at it, may you find the strength to write “Who is this?” to all the strange numbers that are still texting you “Happy New Year!”

 Here’s to 2020.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Help yourself. I’ve got a whole drawer full of resolutions I’m not using.”- Annie Hatfield 

Image courtesy of H Leung gallery (Abstract impressionism)

Published by

Luvuga

I'm not perfect, but a mess of unfinished thoughts.

One thought on “The Decade that was!”

Leave a comment